Name those IITians who lead the world?

1.NR.Narayana Murthy:NR. Narayana Murthy brought India on the world’s IT map through Infosys.Murthy obtained his Bachelor of Electrical Engineering (B.E.) from University of Mysore in 1967 and his Master of Technology (M. Tech.) from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur in 1969. Under his leadership, Infosys was listed on NASDAQ in 1999.Presently, he is the Chairman Emeritus of Infosys Technologies Limited. He topped the Economic Times list of India's most powerful CEOs for three consecutive years: 2004 to 2006 and is the first Indian winner of the Ernst & Young World Entrepreneur of the Year award. Apart from numerous other honours, he has been awarded the Padma Vibhushan by the Government of India. 2.Nandan M.Nilekani:He is one of the co founder of Infosys.He was born in Bangalore, Karnataka on June 2, 1955.He currently serves as the Chairman of the new Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI).He was named among the ‘World’s most respected business leaders' in 2002 and 2003, according to a global survey by Financial Times. 3.Chetan Bhagat:Chetan Bhagat is the author of four blockbuster novels, Five Point Someone (2004), One Night @ the Call Center (2005), The 3 Mistakes of my life (2008) & 2 States (2009), Born in Delhi in 1974.This IIT D/ IIM A graduate is making India read like never before as all his four books have remained bestsellers since their release and have inspired major Bollywood films. The New York Times called Chetan ‘the biggest selling English language novelist in India's history,’ Time Magazine named him as one of the 100 Most Influential People in the World. 4.Arun Sarin:Arun Sarin has been the CEO of Britain’s Vodafone Group and is presently a senior adviser at the private equity firm KKR. Born on October 21. 1954 in Pachmarhi, Madhya Pradesh.Currently, he serves on the board of directors of Cisco Systems and Safeway, Inc.Sarin has also served as a director of The Gap. Inc., The Charles Schwab Corporation and Cisco Systems, Inc.In 2010, he received an honorary knighthood from the Queen at Buckingham Palace. 5.Jairam Ramesh:Jairam Ramesh is a Congress Member of Parliament representing Andhra Pradesh in Rajya Sabha. He studied mechanical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Mumbai in 1975.He has been a member of three committees of Parliament—the Public Accounts Committee, the Standing Committee on Finance and the Committee on Government Assurances— and a member of the Court of JNU, New Delhi.He has also been deputy chairman Karnataka Planning Board, member of the Rajasthan Development Council. Economic Advisor to the government of Chattisgarh. 6.Narendra Patni:He is the founder, chairman, and chief executive officer of Patni Computer Systems.As an entrepreneur, he has played an integral role in the development of the Indian IT industry through his various ventures. Patni has been instrumental in initiating the offshore outsourcing business model for the software industry.Presently, Patni is the non-executive Chairman of the company. He is a nominee of the NKP Group, is not required to retire by rotation from the Board. 7. Dr. Raghuram Rajan:He is one of the top researchers of the world in areas of economic and finance. He received his Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Delhi in 1985 along with the Director’s Gold Medal for all round performance.Dr. Rajan is currently the Economic Counselor and Director of Research at the International Monetary Fund, USA.He has won an array of prestigious awards including three consecutive Brattle prizes for distinguished papers in the Journal of Finance in 2003.He has also written a book with Luigi Zingales entitled 'Saving Capitalism from the Capitalists’. 8.Ashok Soota:He is the founder chairman of MindTree, an IT company specializing in IT services, infrastructure management and technical support (IMTS), independent testing, knowledge services and product engineering. IIT Roorkee alumunus, Soota holds a B.E. degree in electrical engineering from University of Roorkee, presently UT Roorkee.In 2010, he has been awarded with Golden Peacock Award for Technology Leadership. 9.Sandipan Deb:He is the Editor of The Indian Express group; Managing Editor of Outlook and Outlook Money. He has also been the Editor-in-Chief of ‘Open’ magazine.He is the author of a book titled “the IITians—The Story of a Remarkable Indian Institution and How its Alumni are Reshaping the World". 10.Mani Lal Bhaumik:Mani Lal Bhaumik’s contribution to innovations in science and technology has been immense, especially in the field of LASIK eye surgery process. Born in a small village in Tamluk, West Bengal, education provided him a way out of poverty.His early contributions to laser technology are exemplified by the development of the excimer laser.In recognition of his pioneering research in high energy lasers and new laser systems, Dr. Bhaumik was honored with Padma Shri in2011.
Responses (0)
Sorry, but you are not allowed to view the replies here.
Your Reply

Copyright © 2016 BangaloreWalkins. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by REDD Apps